*Please refresh your browser often to see most current information.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Program Listing

Search Categories
  • Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8)

    Agency: Franklin County Regional Housing and Redevelopment Authority

    The Franklin County Regional Housing and Redevelopment Authority (FCRHRA) administers the federal Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Program, also known as Section 8, for residents of Franklin County (except Greenfield). The Section 8 (HCV) Program provides assistance to eligible low- and moderate-income families to rent housing in the private market. The program works as a rental subsidy that allows families to pay a reasonable amount of their income toward their rent. Eligible families will receive a voucher to begin searching for housing. The FCRHRA administers both mobile (or tenant-based) vouchers and project-based vouchers.

    Under the Section 8 HCV Program, families generally will pay no more than 30% of their adjusted monthly income toward their rent share. The FCRHRA pays the remaining amount to the owner on the family’s behalf. This payment to the owner is known as the Housing Assistance Payment. Participants with a voucher are free to find private housing anywhere provided that it meets the requirements of the program. HCV Program participants may also be eligible to participate in the Family Self-Sufficiency Program. For more information, visit: https://fcrhra.org/family-self-sufficiency-program/

    The Project Based Voucher Program is similar to the Section 8 HCV program, which requires tenants to pay 30% of their income towards rent. However, whereas the regular Section 8 subsidy is tied to a tenant, the Project Based HCV subsidy is attached to a designated unit.

    • FC Regional Housing and Redevelopment Authority (FCRHRA)
      Fax: (413) 863-9289
      Business Line: (413) 863-9781
      241 Millers Falls Rd.
      Turners Falls, MA 01376

    Agency: Franklin County Regional Housing and Redevelopment Authority

    Languages Offered: English

    Program Fees: None

    Eligibility: Individuals and families with low income. Call for specific income eligibility information.

    Area(s) Served:
    • Franklin County
    • Athol, Worcester County

  • Add/Update Listing Powered by: skyClutch Logo